Logo of the Office of The State Commissioner for Persons with Disabilities, Meghalaya.

Definition of Disability

According to The Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016

"Person with disability" means a person with long term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairment which, in interaction with barriers, hinders his full and effective participation in society equally with others.

"Person with benchmark disability" means a person with not less than forty per cent. of a specified disability where specified disability has not been defined in measurable terms and includes a person with disability where specified disability has been defined in measurable terms, as certified by the certifying authority.

The 21 disabilities covered are as follows.

1. Blindness
2. Low-vision
3. Leprosy Cured persons
4. Hearing Impairment
5. Locomotor Disability
6. Dwarfism
7. Intellectual Disability
8. Mental Illness
9. Autism Spectrum Disorder
10. Cerebral Palsy
11. Muscular Dystrophy
12. Chronic Neurological conditions
13. Specific Learning Disabilities
14. Multiple Sclerosis
15. Speech and Language disability
16. Thalassemia
17. Hemophilia
18. Sickle cell disease
19. Multiple Disabilities including deaf-blindness
20. Acid Attack victims
21. Parkinson’s disease

Total Number of Visitors
Website analytics